SPJ Indiana Pro Chapter Scholarship

The SPJ Indiana Pro Chapter is offering up to two $2,500 scholarship to collegiate journalists in spring 2019. The scholarship will be awarded at the chapter's annual banquet on Friday, April 26, 2019, at Indianapolis Marriott North. The deadline is Monday, April 1, 2019.

Selection Criteria

  • Applicant must have attended an Indiana high school and currently be attending an Indiana college or university.

  • Applicant must be a college sophomore or junior pursuing a career in journalism.

  • Applicant must be actively involved in a student media outlet or SPJ chapter on their respective campus.

  • Applicant must have an overall GPA of 3.0 (on a 4.0 scale.)

Required Materials

All materials must be submitted by April 1.

  • College transcript emailed to Hilary Powell at hilarylpowell@ymail.com. (If your school is unable to email transcripts, please mail it to Shaina Cavazos at 719 Virginia Ave, ℅ Chalkbeat Indiana Ste 1, Indianapolis IN, 46203)

  • Resume

  • Work samples

  • A recommendation letter from a professor or internship supervisor. Please have the professor or supervisor email the letter as a Word document or PDF attachment to Hilary Powell at hilarylpowell@ymail.com.

  • A 300-word typed essay on: "Why the applicant plans to pursue a career in journalism."

Please complete the form below

Name *

Past Scholarship Winners


Kaitlyn Kendall, University of Indianapolis

Sarah Bahr, IUPUI


Casey Smith, Ball State University

Jamie Zega, Indiana University


Danielle Grady, Ball State University


Kayla Sullivan, University of Indianapolis


Esther Bower, Ball State University

Emily Abshire, Indiana University


Lydia Gerike, Indiana University

Emily Ketterer, Franklin College